Biography of Timothy S. Johnston

TSJ, 2013

Photo by Tiffany Jones Photography, 2013

Timothy S. Johnston is an award-winning writer of futuristic and contemporary mystery/thrillers.  There is always a technological component to his plot lines, and the science that he uses to propel his stories forward is real and verifiable.  His characters are strongly motivated and undergo extreme change; his protagonists each find themselves drawn into intense situations seemingly beyond their control.  The stakes are always huge and the outcomes unique and unpredictable.  He is dedicated to the art of telling a compelling story and contributing to the genre that has given him so much over the past four decades.  He is passionate about writing and committed to inspiring others through his stories.  Carina Press published a trilogy of thrillers by Johnston:  THE FURNACE (2013), THE FREEZER  (2014), and THE VOID (2015).  This series — The Tanner Sequence — details Homicide Investigator Lt. Kyle Tanner’s emotional journey as he solves difficult cases set in unique and deadly claustrophobic environments.  THE FURNACE won the 2015 CYGNUS Award in the “Science Fiction Thriller” Category, was shortlisted for the 2015 Science Fiction EPIC Award, and all three books in The Tanner Sequence won the 2015 CLUE Award for Thriller / Suspense Novel in the “Blended Genre” category.  THE FREEZER won the 2016 Science Fiction Epic Award and was shortlisted for the 2015 CYGNUS Award.  THE VOID was shortlisted for the 2016 Science Fiction EPIC Award.  In 2016, Timothy S. Johnston signed with ChiZine Publications to publish a brand new series. The saga is The Rise of Oceania, set underwater in the near future amidst the espionage, intrigue, and action of a Second Cold War rapidly turning hot. The books are: THE WAR BENEATH, THE SAVAGE DEEPS, and FATAL DEPTH.

DATAFILE:  TSJ

Timothy S. Johnston fell in love with science fiction and horror at a young age.  Television shows such as STAR TREK, SPACE: 1999, and THE TWILIGHT ZONE during his formative years had an enormous impact on his creative journey.  Films of the era including ALIEN, STAR WARS, LOGAN’S RUN, ROLLERBALL (1975), SOYLENT GREEN, THE OMEGA MAN, and SILENT RUNNING also stimulated his emerging imagination.  Then, during his teen years in the 1980’s, he discovered THE TERMINATOR, THE THING, ESCAPE FROM NEW YORK, BLADE RUNNER, THE FLY, and ALIENS — movies with a harder edge that furthered his admiration for the genre.  He read THE EXORCIST, JAWS, and THE AMITYVILLE HORROR at the age of twelve, along with an assortment of Stephen King horrors in subsequent years such as CUJO, IT, and CHRISTINE.  Other writers he discovered in his teens included Frederik Pohl, Isaac Asimov, Edgar Allan Poe, Arthur C. Clarke, Lester del Rey, and Robert Heinlein.  He was often tired during the day because of nighttime reading, and is now embarrassed to admit that he was frequently late to school.

By the time Timothy was seventeen, he knew that writing riveting page-turners and telling stories in the science fiction, horror, and thriller categories was where his destiny lay.

Timothy is also an avid filmgoer.  In the genre field his favorite films are PLANET OF THE APES (1968), THE THING (1982), and INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS (1978).  Dramas include GLENGARRY GLEN ROSS, 12 ANGRY MEN, and AMERICAN HISTORY X.  He has an eclectic sense of humor and enjoys a wide variety of comedies ranging from Woody Allen to slapstick.  His preferred comedy duo is Abbott and Costello.

His favorite Science Fiction books are GATEWAY by Frederik Pohl, ENDER’S GAME by Orson Scott Card, Asimov’s FOUNDATION saga,  Joe Haldeman’s THE FOREVER WAR, and READY PLAYER ONE by Ernest Cline.  He credits Michael Crichton, Isaac Asimov, and Agatha Christie as his biggest inspirations.

Timothy S. Johnston enjoys writing thrillers that have numerous twists and turns and involve a scientific or technological plot line.  Rather than telling a story that goes from A to B, he will tell one that goes from A to Z — and beyond.  Cliffhangers abound in his thrillers, and putting one down before completed is difficult.

He hopes to see THE FURNACE, THE FREEZER, and THE VOID on film or television, and in his wildest dreams to one day collaborate with James Cameron, J.J. Abrams, John Carpenter, and Steven Spielberg.  Timothy S. Johnston has enormous respect for creative talents in every genre and artistic realm, be it writing, film, music, art or dance, and he is not shy about crediting those who continue to inspire and stimulate his imagination and creativity.

 

Praise for The Furnace:

“… a Crichtonesque thriller …” — K I R K U S

“… riveting …” — Midwest Book Review

“… fantastic …” — TrekWeb.com

“… a page turner … ” — Allbooks Review

“… fun … enjoyable … plenty of action … entertaining …” — SF Site

“… outstanding.” — Science Fiction Review.com

“… intense …” — The Bibliophilic Book Blog

“… I was absolutely blown away by The Furnace …” — Dreamworld Book Reviews

“… definitely a page turner … suspense-filled …” — Kaye Trout’s Book Reviews

“… compelling …” — Booklover Book Reviews

“… Scary and gripping …” — eBookanoid

“… a great ride …” — The Qwillery

“Johnston is an exemplary novelist.” — Dreamworld Book Reviews

“… suspense-filled …” — Kaye Trout’s Book Reviews

“… a gripping page-turner …” — Ramblings from this Chick

“… an edge-of-your-seat page turner!” — Moonrise Book Blog

“… wonderfully diabolical and frightening …” — Martha’s Bookshelf

“… a great science fiction locked station mystery …” — alternative-worlds.com

“It is a case of Agatha Christie meets Isaac Asimov with added Crichton for flavouring.” — eBookanoid.com

“Fans of Michael Crichton or James Patterson will certainly love Timothy S. Johnston.” — Science Fiction Review.com

“… properly gruesome.” — SFcrowsnest

“(The Furnace) took me by storm.” — Edi’s Book Lighthouse

“A must-read.” — Ardath Mayhar, SF author of over 60 novels including THE WORLD ENDS IN HICKORY HOLLOW.

 

 

 

Timothy S. Johnston is represented by Carolyn Forde of Westwood Creative Artists Ltd.