Reviews of Timothy S. Johnston’s The War Beneath

 

Reviews:

READERS’ FAVORITE:  “When global warming gives reality to the currently existing concerns about rising sea levels, humankind begins adapting by building cities beneath the sea. Vastly superior submarines of various sizes and capabilities are the common mode of transport. But if there’s one thing that never changes, it’s the competition between nations to be the best and the fastest in every field. To do that, each major country has its spies everywhere … sit back, start reading and enjoy a deep sea dive into the future … One very riveting, intelligent read!”FIVE STARS at Readers’ Favorite

———

SF CROWSNEST: “‘The War Beneath’ is a thrill ride from beginning to end, with several heart-stopping scenes that clearly illustrate the boundaries of underwater living and warfare … Sometimes I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough as I waited for Mac and his team to figure out how to live through their next quandary.

The environment is well-described to the point where I nearly had to hold my breath for the entire book, something I find myself doing in underwater scenes in movies. The politics are sharp and twisty. What I really enjoyed about the story, though, was the evolution of Mac, himself. The plot challenges his past, present and future and he has to decide not only who he is, but who he wants to be. He has to balance his wish for a safe future for his city against the future of all the underwater cities and he has the legacy of his father and his relationship with his sister to consider as well.

All in all, I really enjoyed ‘The War Beneath.’ This novel is everything I’ve come to expect from Timothy S. Johnston and a promising start to a new series and one I look forward to following.” — SF Crowsnest

———

A THRILL A WEEK: “The series begins in the underwater world of Trieste City located off the coast of Florida … Johnston’s The War Beneath follows in the tradition of Tom Clancy and Larry Bond, except that all of the war machines are futuristic. If you like novels like The Hunt for Red October and Red Storm Rising, you will certainly enjoy The War Beneath. Lots of action, neat technology, and interesting characters pretty much sums it up.” — A Thrill A Week

———

THE CAMBRIDGE GEEK: “This is very much in thriller territory, slightly out of my usual, but not bad for all that. It feels similar to something Lee Child might write, but also has hints of Andy Weir’s Artemis … That book’s combination of science and fiction is well presented here, with a nice level of technical detail put into the difficulties of surviving at pressure … While McClusky falls rather strongly into the “action hero” mould, there’s some tweaks to his personality that allow a more thoughtful approach to some of the problems he faces. Good to see. At the same time however, if you’re here for thrills, the book will deliver.” — The Cambridge Geek

———

JONATHAN P. BRAZEE:  Timothy S. Johnston has done it again. A master of taut, well-crafted stories, he raises the bar with The War Beneath. In a world of rising ocean levels, mankind has taken to creating underwater cities. Human nature does not change, however, and nations compete for supremacy under the waves. I have spent time aboard US submarines, and Johnston accurately recreates the feel of living under pressure, but with futuristic technology and robust characters in this attention-grabbing thriller. Johnston has his own voice, but if you like Clancy and le Carré with a hint of Forsyth thrown in, you’ll love The War Beneath. — Colonel Jonathan P. Brazee, USMC (RET), 2017 Nebula Award & 2018 Dragon Award Finalist

———

ARDATH MAYHAR:  “This is a tense, gripping science fiction/thriller of which Tom Clancy might well be proud . . . I fully intended to read this novel slowly, being easily wearied these days, but once I started it I found it impossible to stop. So I read the entire 100,000+ word book in one day and was sorry when it ended. When I say it is gripping, that is the simple truth.” — Ardath Mayhar

———

THE WAR BENEATH from Timothy S. Johnston and ChiZine Publications is out in paperback and eBook format on 18 December 2018.  Click here for purchase links.

Follow TSJ on Facebook
Follow TSJ on Twitter
Follow TSJ on Instagram

Check out Timothy’s blog “Life After Gateway” here.